Environmental Commission (EC)

November 29 Meeting Participation

The November 29, 2020 Environmental Commission meeting will be held via Zoom at 6:00 pm, with the meeting room opening at 5:45. The public is welcome to participate.

To participate by phone: Call 833-548-0276 toll-free and enter meeting ID 862 4641 1827 . If prompted for a password or participant ID, press #.

Passcode: 050577


The Environmental Commission was established in 1975 by the Board of County Commissioners to:
  • Promote recycling programs, alternative energy use, and energy conservation 
  • Provide public education through outreach events
  • Support other County environmental organizations 
  • Advise the Board of County Commissioners, the Department of Planning and Zoning, and the Planning Commission on environmental matters


6:00 p.m.
Typically meetings are held on the last Monday of each month.  

When the last Monday of the month falls on a holiday, the meeting shall be held earlier. See table for more information.

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

View EC meeting agendas and minutes.


Planning & Zoning
Prince Frederick, MD 20678

Notify Me

Subscribe here to be notified when agendas and minutes for meetings of the Environmental Commission are published.

What's New

Free radon test kits are available to Maryland residents from the State Departments of Health and the Environment. Radon is a naturally occurring radioactive gas and the second leading cause of lung cancer behind smoking. Radon gas could be present in your home. Breathing it in over prolonged periods can present a significant health risk to your family. An easy to use test kit can tell you if you have a radon problem. If your home hasn't been tested for radon gas in the past 2-3 years, order a test kit now. For more information on radon, check out our Frequently Asked Questions (PDF).

Meeting and Guest Speaker Schedule

1/25/21 Chair and Vice-Chair Election
2/22/21 TBD
3/29/21 Tad Auburn, Director, Maryland Department of the Environment Air & Radiation Administration
4/26/21 Michael Kent, President, Calvert County Chapter of the NAACP
"Soil and Erosion Control - design, regulation, inspection, performance, and compliance."
Geoffrey Westbrook, Erosion and Sediment Control Specialist, Calvert County Soil Conservation District
6/28/21 Kerry Dull, Director, Public Works, Department of Public Works Overview
7/26/21 Todd Watkins, Director, Department of Transportation Montgomery County School System
8/23/21 No guest speaker scheduled
9/27/21 Dr. Thomas Ihde, Morgan State University Patuxent Environmental and Aquatic Research Laboratory (PEARL), Blue Crab Survey
10/25/21 No guest speaker scheduled
11/29/21 DeCarlo Brown, Calvert County, Forest Conservation Program
12/13/21 No guest speaker scheduled

Open Meetings Act Statement

The Environmental Commission complies with the Open Meetings Act. 


To view presentations from guest speakers to the Environmental Commission, visit our presentations folder.

EC Members

Name Bio District Term Expiration
Levin, Jim (Chair)

Bio (PDF)

1 10/31/22
Hardy, David
Bio  (PDF)
1 10/31/21
Mitchelmore, Carys  Bio (PDF) 1 4/30/22
Phillips-Lewis, Autumn Bio (PDF) 1 4/30/22
Rogers, Andy
 Bio (PDF)
1 1/31/24
Knobloch, Amanda Bio (PDF) 1 10/31/21
Leo, Chad   1 8/31/2022
Smith, Neil   2 6/30/2024
Rooney, Michael   1 3/31/2022


If you are interested in becoming a member of the Environmental Commission, please refer to the Volunteer Boards and Commissions page. You can read more about EC membership in our guide to membership (PDF).