Board of License Commissioners (Liquor Board)


The state of Maryland empowers the Board of License Commissioners (commonly referred to as the Liquor Board, and hereinafter referred to as the "Board") to administer and enforce the provisions of Article 2B of the Annotated Code of Maryland. The Board has adopted its own Rules and Regulations necessary to carry out its duties under Article 2B.

The Commissions’ responsibility is to regulate and control the sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages within the county to obtain respect and obedience to laws and to administer and enforce the provisions of the laws of the State of Maryland and the Rules and Regulations of Calvert County.

Open Meetings

  • Public invited
  • Meetings held the fourth Thursday monthly at 1 p.m.
  • Harriet E. Brown Community Center
    901 Dares Beach Road
    Room 113
    Prince Frederick, MD 20678

2020 Meeting Schedule

  • January 23
  • February 27
  • March 26
  • April 23
  • May 28
  • June 25
  • July 23
  • August 27
  • September 24
  • October 22
  • No meeting in November
  • December 3


Calvert County Behavioral Health along with SAMHSA offer FREE Responsible Beverage Service Training (PDF) for Calvert County businesses and citizens.

2020 TIPS Training Schedule

On-Premise Dates: 

  • November 10th
  • December 8th 
  • January 12th

Off-Premise Dates:

  • November 24th
  • December 22nd
  • January 26th

Registration is required. For more information - please contact: 

  • Kristyn Lambert
    280 Stafford Road
    Barstow, MD
    410-535-3079, ext. 26
    Email Kristyn


Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All


There shall be three regular members and one alternate member appointed by the Governor of Maryland, biennially, by and with the advice and consent of the senate, if in session, and if not in session, then the governor alone, and an alternate. The term of each member shall be two years.

Member NamePositionTerm ExpirationDistrict
Robert D. ArscottChairman6/3/20193
Steve JonesMember6/3/20191
John H. SmackAlternate6/3/20192
Linda A. TaymanSecretaryn/an/a
David C. WeigelAttorneyn/an/a