Historic District Commission (HDC)


The Historic District Commission (HDC) serves as a citizen review board on matters concerning historic preservation within Calvert County. The seven members of the Historic District Commission, appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, have knowledge, training and special interest in historic preservation.

The HDC makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners concerning the designation of sites as historic districts and applications for Calvert County tax credits for restoration work on structures in historic districts. There are currently 91 individual properties that have been designated historic districts in Calvert County. There are 3 additional properties that have been designated historic landmarks in the Town of North Beach. Those properties receive the same consideration as the county historic districts.

The HDC reviews and approves petitions and building permits for alteration, repair, moving or demolition of structures and for ground-disturbing activities within designated historic districts. The HDC also reviews subdivision and site plan applications which may affect historic districts and makes recommendations on National Register nominations to the Maryland Historical Trust.


HDC meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month at 4:30pm unless otherwise rescheduled.

2021 HDC Meeting Schedule (PDF)


Planning & Zoning Conference Room
3rd floor
County Services Building
150 Main Street
Prince Frederick, MD 20678

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

View HDC Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Notify Me

Subscribe here to be notified when agendas and minutes for meetings of the Historic District Commission are published.

2021 HDC Meeting Schedule

Date Time
1/13/2021 4:30pm
2/10/2021 4:30pm
3/10/2021 4:30pm
4/14/2021 4:30pm
5/12/2021 4:30pm
6/9/2021 4:30pm
7/14/2021 4:30pm
8/11/2021 4:30pm
9/8/2021 4:30pm
10/13/2021 4:30pm
11/10/2021 4:30pm
12/8/2021 4:30pm

Open Meeting Statement

The Historic District Commission complies with the Open Meetings Act.

HDC Members

Thomas Dugan, Chair  
William J. Bass, Vice Chair  
Timothy Davis, Secretary  
Robert K. Evans  
Cynthia Fehr  
Michael Kent  
Scott Montgomery  

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Historic District Commission please refer to the  Volunteer Boards and Commissions web page